After hearing I work from home, the majority of people say, “that is so cool” or “that must be so convenient”.  Though it is cool and convenient, there are significant drawbacks that most people do not take into account.

Here is an interesting article about the pros and cons about working at home.

view article >>

Here is my list of cons:

1)  Wuoogle.  People call my phone and say, “Wu, can you Google something for me”.  They don’t ask, “Are you by the internet?” or “Are you busy?” because they know the answers are yes and no respectively.  So instead of 411, friends can call my phone during the day because they know I will be by the internet and can answer phone calls.  I do not mind but it can be very distracting if you are on a roll with work.

2)  No human interaction – I will literally go days without seeing a real human.  My work hours are strange to say the least, from 9 am to 6 pm and then from 10 pm to 4 am.  If I do not go out to lunch, I can go Monday to Friday without seeing a single person.

3)  Food – It is extremely easy to snack all day, which I do.  Not only is this unhealthy, but it is a hard habit to break.

The grass is always greener on the other side, but I appreciate my time at home.  I can play crazy music as loud as I want, wear the same sweater for 5 days straight, and provide a free internet search service to anyone who knows my number.

